A 29-year-old West Ashley man faces drunk driving charges after a hit-and-run accident on March 25. The accident occurred before 2 a.m. at Savannah Highway when the man drove a Kia Forte south until attempting to turn left into oncoming traffic at Arlington Drive.
Bluffton police say that a local man on a moped was driving unsafely on Buckwalter Parkway. The man was said to be swerving and traveling across the lanes and falling off his moped. After pulling over the man, he was detained.
A South Carolina man faces numerous charges after an alleged drunk driving incident on Nov. 30. According to authorities, a police officer noticed the 43-year-old accused man crossing the center line of a road in Kershaw County. Police say they then tried to stop the man, but he allegedly refused to comply with their request, initiating a chase through several residential areas.
As Emma's Law went into effect on Oct. 1, the penalties for driving while intoxicated became more stringent in the state. The law is named for a girl who died on Jan. 1, 2012, in a DUI accident. One of the important aspects of the legislation is the fact that it draws attention to and raises awareness of the consequences of intoxicated driving. Additionally, the law establishes tools that the authorities can use to address the actions of those who choose to drive while they are drunk.
According to the South Carolina Highway Patrol, a July 29 accident involving a suspected drunk driver forced officials to close down Highway 81 just south of Easley. Reportedly, the 12:30 a.m. accident brought down nearby power lines.
Despite tough DUI laws, a study by 24-7 Wall Street has named South Carolina as third in the nation for drunk driving deaths. In 2012 alone, almost 360 people were killed in drunk driving incidents. Although the state is third in deaths, it is ranked in 20th place for DUI arrests. Recently, Governor Nikki Haley signed into a law what is being called Emma's Law, which requires an ignition interlock be installed on the vehicles of those first and second time convicted with blood-alcohol contents of 0.15 or higher and 0.08 percent, respectively.
Across the country, lawmakers and law enforcement officials are cracking down on drunk driving. The legal limit in South Carolina is 0.08 percent, and driving under the influence with a blood-alcohol content above that amount can result in an arrest and criminal charges. Legislators in the state are also considering amending the current law to make it more difficult for a person to get behind the wheel after a first DUI offense.
It can be tempting to get behind the wheel after a few drinks. You might feel like you haven’t had that much or know that you only have a short drive to make. However, South Carolina, like the rest of the U.S., is increasingly implementing harsh penalties for drinking and driving. The repercussions for driving under the influence can include imprisonment, heavy fines and counseling. A DUI conviction can also bear long-term implications, including loss of a driver’s license and difficulties finding employment. Criminal charges may even be upgraded to a felony count if another person has been injured or killed as the result of drunk driving.
A teenage girl was recently hit by a van at the hands of her father. The man has been accused of driving drunk at the time of the accident. He was charged with DUI along with other charges. He is being detained at a South Carolina county facility without bond.
South Carolina has car accidents every day, in all parts of the state. The public typically wants a reason for the accident, whether it is texting, drunk driving or some other form of negligence. It seems that an accident is rarely simply characterized as a mistake. Unfortunately, a driver is now being accused of drinking and driving after he is said to have caused an accident in South Carolina.