Challenging The Evidence Against You In DUI/DWI Cases
The punishment for a DUI conviction is severe. Even if you avoid jail, a conviction will restrict your ability to drive, reach deep into your wallet and establish a criminal record that shadows your life for years to come.
At our firm, Christopher A. Wellborn, P.A., we can give you a fighting chance if you are charged with driving under the influence (DUI). At the helm of our firm is a former prosecutor who draws on 30 years of experience in DUI (DWI) cases to challenge the evidence against you.
We take drunk driving cases in York County and the surrounding counties of South Carolina. We represent first-time and repeat offenders, truck drivers, Winthrop University students and out-of-state drivers. Contact us for a free initial consultation.
Why You Need To Fight A DUI
A first offense carries a possible jail sentence plus a six-month license suspension. To get a restricted license to drive to work or school, you must enroll in an Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program (ADSAP). To have your license reinstated after your suspension period, you must also purchase special SR-22 insurance for three years at a cost of $3,000 to $4,000 per year. The conviction can affect employment, scholarships, athletic eligibility and other facets of your life.
A second DUI conviction carries mandatory jail time, a one-year license revocation with no provisional license and installation of an ignition interlock device before you can drive again. These penalties are enhanced if your BAC was .16 or greater, and a conviction for a third drunk driving offense can result in even more serious penalties.
South Carolina does not have diversion programs that keep a DUI conviction off your record. We will make every effort to have your case dismissed or reduced to a charge such as reckless driving or driving too fast for conditions.
There is no incentive to plead guilty to a straight DUI. If the prosecutor won’t offer a reasonable plea bargain, we are prepared to go to trial because of everything that is at stake for our clients. We have successfully challenged cases on the basis of probable cause for the traffic stop, police car video of field sobriety tests and the arrest, failure to give Miranda or implied consent warnings, and expert testimony about the blood alcohol readings.
Driver’s License Suspension Hearings
Your license may be suspended at the time of your arrest. If so, you must request an administrative hearing within 30 days of your arrest. These hearings are important for two reasons:
- If you win, you retain your valid license; if you lose, you can still get a restricted license.
- It gives us a chance to review the evidence so that we can determine how to best defend your case.
Get The Aggressive Defense Strategy You Need
If you were arrested for DUI or driving with an unlawful alcohol concentration (DUAC), our attorney can offer the experienced and aggressive defense you need. Call our Rock Hill office at 866-635-6765 to fight to protect your rights and minimize the impact this can have on your life.